About “Carmem S. Pfeifer”


Dr. Carmem Pfeifer is a Professor in the Department of Restorative Dentistry, Division of Biomaterials and Biomechanics at OHSU School of Dentistry. Dr. Pfeifer teaches Dental Materials and serves as an instructor in several Restorative Dentistry pre-clinical disciplines. She also serves as advisor to graduate theses in the School of Dentistry, Department of Pediatric Dentistry. Dr. Pfeifer obtained her DDS (2001) and PhD (2007) from the University of São Paulo, Brazil. She was a post-doc fellow (2008-2011) at the University of Colorado, School of Dentistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering (Aurora/Boulder). Dr. Pfeifer has published close to 60 research articles in the field of Dental Materials Sciences and serves as the reviewer for several journals in dentistry, polymer science and biomaterials, as well as for the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research at NIH. Her research focuses on the development of innovative polymeric materials for restorative dentistry, as well as on the development of analytical tools to characterize polymer properties evolution in real-time. Recently, she has received the inventor of the year award from OHSU. Her research and career development has been successfully funded by the Oregon Medical Research Foundation, National Science Foundation and National Institutes of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Dr. Pfeifer is originally from Brazil and speaks Portuguese. She really enjoys living in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, twin sons, and two dogs.

Education and training:
D.D.S., 2001, University of São Paulo
Ph.D., 2007, University of São Paulo

Post-doctoral – Polymer chemistry applied to dental materials – University of Colorado, 2009

Memberships and associations:
Academy of Dental Materials, Treasurer
International Association for Dental Research, Dental Materials Group – President (2019-2020)
American Chemical Society, Polymers Division
Sigma Xi – The Scientific Research Society
American Association for Dental Re search (AADR), Board member-at-large (2018-2021)

Honors and awards:
TTBD Inventor of the year award, 2015
Faculty Senate Excellence Award, 2017
Women in Academic Medicine “Discovery Award”, 2018
Weight Professorship in Restorative Dentistry, 2022

No positions found!